Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      highpointersclub
      Participant
      [Ed: Imported from Americas Roof ‘Summit Trip Reports’ forum]
      [By: Matthew DiBiase on November 23 2005 at 3:25 PM]

GUADALUPE PEAK-TEXAS
      NOVEMBER 17, 2005

“Once you are in Texas it seems to take forever to get out, and some people never make it….Texas is a state of mind. Texas is an obsession. Above all, Texas is a nation in every sense of the word….Texas is the only state that came into the Union by treaty. It retains the right to secede at will….It is a mystique closely approximating a religion….Rich, poor, Panhandle, Gulf, city, country, Texas is the obsession, the proper study and the passionate possession of all Texans.”

John Steinbeck, Travels with Charley

It was appropriate that my first trip to Texas should involve the bagging of its highest point. I had been contemplating this journey for the past eight years and my main concern was not the altitude of the peak but the weather patterns around the area. Last year it had been my intention to climb Guadalupe Peak in October 2005 but when checking the weather patterns around Guadalupe Peak I saw that it had been uncommonly rainy and stormy with massive flooding. Then I read a travel article in my local newspaper that said that one of the best times to visit Guadalupe Peak and the West Texas area is November. I decided to take a chance and move my trip back a month and pray for good luck. My prayers were rewarded when I got to spend ten lovely days visiting El Paso, Big Bend National Park, the Davis Mountains, and topping it off by bagging my 19th high point when I climbed Guadalupe Peak.