Minutes

2015 Annual Banquet and General Membership Meeting

Worthington, Minnesota

July 25, 2015

The Highpointers Club 29th Annual General Membership Meeting was conducted during the Iowa 2015 Convention Banquet at the Comfort Suites and Conference Center in Worthington, Minnesota.

A social hour was followed by a call to order by Master of Ceremony Don Holmes at 6:45 PM. President Tim Webb welcomed the 175 members and 32 guests in attendance. This was followed by a buffet-style banquet dinner during which the winner of the gun raffle by the Hawkeye Point Foundation was announced.

Introductions:

Don introduced Host Jim Sutton, the head table, honored guests, Board of Directors, Convention Crew, past convention hosts and the banquet preparation staff.

Honored guests were Donna Sterler and Family, Iowa State Senator Rich Vande Hoef and his wife Harriet Vande Hoef, Osceola County Supervisor Jayson Vande Hoef and his wife Cathy Vande Hoef, members of the Hawkeye Point Foundation led by Chairman Mike Earll, and representatives of both the Future Farmers of America and the Westerners' 4-H Club.

Recognitions:

Farthest to travel to the convention- brother and sister Sjaak and Lidy Van Schie of The Netherlands.

Most family members in attendance were the Sterler Family with ten.

Oldest in attendance were Homer Gurtler and Iowa State Senator Rich Vande Hoef (both 90 yo).

Youngest in attendance was Brian Fahlenkamp (18 mo).

Most conventions attended was Penn Watson (27 of 29).

50 Completers in attendance were Dave Covill, Tom Ferguson, Barb Gurtler, Don Holmes, John Mitchler, Kenny Pokora, Gerry Roach, George Vandersluis, Don Wallace and CharlieWinger.

Business:

John and Kathy Mitchler presented an update of the Montana 2016 convention.

Dave Covill presented an update of the HP Foundation activities.

Don conducted the selection of the 2017 convention site. Mick Dunn nominated Massachusetts and Bill Urbanski nominated Rhode Island on behalf of Stony Burk. The vote was 91 to 56 in favor of Massachusetts. Mick Dunn will host Massachusetts 2017.

Awards:

Prior to the awards presentations, a moment of silence was observed for Edward Earl, Adam Helman and Jack Parsell, who we lost during the past year.

Donna Sterler was honored with a special plaque and flowers in recognition of her and her late husband Merrill's effort to assure perpetual public access to the Iowa high point.

Don announced Frank Ashley Awards for the following-

Jessica and Thomas Barthelme (assistance to Jan and Ray Nelson with Membership and IA15 Treasurer duties during the Nelson's transition to a new home)

Mike Earll (Chairman of Hawkeye Point Foundation) and Hawkeye Point Foundation members (assistance with IA15)

Steve Koski (HP Club supporter as an advocate of Mt. Arvon and Mt. Curwood in Michigan)

Agrihan Volcano climbers Fr Morgan Batt, Jeremy Dixon, Clint Kaul, Roger Kaul, John Mitchler and Roger Wendell (first recorded ascent of the Northern Mariana Islands high point)

Don also announced Paul Zumwalt Awards to the 16 residents of Saipan who directly participated in the Agrihan Expedition.

Don presented a 48 Completer plaque to Doug Urban.

Program:

Prior to the program, the meeting concluded with the passing of the Highpointers Club Pennant from Jim Sutton (IA15) to John Mitchler (MT16).

The evening concluded with a short introduction to, and a screening of, 'American Highpoints', a film in mid-production by Gary Scurka, Kathleen Wolff and Mackenzie Scurka.