Paul Zumwalt Award Winners are David Liaño, Tracey Barrett and Steve Koski…

David LianoThis years selections for the “Paul Zumwalt Award” are David Liaño, Tracey Barrett and Steve Koski.

David volunteered to take Guru Jakk’s ashes to the top of Mount Everest at the request of one of our members Stuart Smith. He completed his mission and also completed havivg Jakk’s ashes scattered at all of the “World’s Seven Summits.”

While climbing Lhotse this spring, Stuart met David, who, after summiting Lhotse on May 21st, took some ashes from him and summited Mount Everest five days later, on May 26th!

Who would choose the 4th highest mountain in the world as an acclimatization climb?

“I received the award and newsletter and I felt very honored. I remember reading about Paul Zuwalt on your website and his story inmediaely inspires respect for the man. This makes receiving the award even more special. As you know, climbing mountains can be a selfish activity if you don’t do it for a higher purpose and of course carrying Jack’s ashes gave it a special meaning.  My deepest gratitude to all the highpointers and keep klimbin!”  David Liaño

Tracey Barrett, from Baraga County Tourist and Recreation Association, and Steve Koski, from Indian Country Sports, are our Michigan folks from the L’Anse, Michigan area.  Both also received the award this year.

As many of you know, L’Anse Township is located in the heart of Baraga County in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and is nestled on the shore of Lake Superior.  This is a vital location for many Highpointers to gather information and get the latest news/directions about the Michigan highpoint.  Tracey and Steve’s cooperation with Highpointers have made them both a very good friend to The Highpointers Club.

This years awards were presented at the convention in Arizona by Author Don Holmes.  Although neither David, Tracey or Steve were able to be there to accept this coveted award, it was sent to them each with great admiration, and appreciation by Highpointers Club Board Member Stony Burk.

Previous winners of the Paul Zumwalt Award.

Tracey Barrett
Steve Koski
David Liaño

Bob & Kathy Blomberg
Donna Sterler
Bobby Gothard
Bill McRae

The Paul Zumwalt Award is named for the late author and surveyor to recognize “Non-Members” who have contributed in a sicnificant manner to Highpointing in the previous year.

Any member may submit nominations with a description of the nominees service.

Send to:

Don Holmes
PO Box 1675
Castle Rock CO 80104-1675

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.